Conference 2014


The New School
63 5th Avenue
New York, New York 10003
United States

Participants are shown in random order.

View in Alphabetical Order

  • Kristy Milland Community Manager of

  • Sergio Muñoz Sarmiento artist and arts lawyer

  • Dmytri Kleiner Software developer & Author

  • Veronica Paredes lecturer at the School of Media Studies at The New School

  • Örsan Şenalp Founder of NetwOrg

  • Dan Greene PhD candidate in American Studies at the University of Maryland

  • Melissa Gira Grant writer and freelance journalist

  • Radhika Gajjala Professor of Media and Communication at Bowling Green State University

  • Jeffrey C. Goldfarb Professor of Sociology at the New School for Social Research

  • Helen Nissenbaum Professor of Media, Culture and Communication, and Computer Science, at New York University,

  • Renée Ridgway PhD candidate at Copenhagen Business School

  • Sarah Roberts Assistant professor at the Faculty of Information Studies (FIMS), Western University

  • Nathan Jurgenson Social media theorist & a contributing editor of The New Inquiry,

  • Mia Consalvo Professor and Canada Research Chair in Game Studies and Design at Concordia University in Montreal

  • Andrew Ross social activist and Professor of Social and Cultural Analysis at NYU

  • Thomas James Lodato Ph.D. candidate in the Digital Media Department at Georgia Institute of Technology

  • Christina H. Moon Director of the MA Fashion Studies at Parsons The New School for Design

  • Pooja Rangan Assistant Professor of Culture and Media in Eugene Lang College at The New School

  • Miriam Posner Digital Humanities program coordinator at the University of California, Los Angeles

  • Molly Osberg Writer & co-editor of Cluster Mag

  • Mark Graham Professor of Internet Geography, Oxford Internet Institute

  • Tanja Sihvonen Postdoctoral Researcher at the University of Turku (Finland

  • Andreas Wittel Senior lecturer at the School of Arts and Humanities, Nottingham Trent University

  • David Hakken Director of the Indiana University program Social Informatics (SI)

  • Karel Koch Associate professor for Media, Culture and Citizenship at Inholland University of Applied Sciences

  • Laura Forlano Writer and Design Researcher

  • Nathan Schneider Assistant Professor of Media Studies, The University of Colorado Boulder

  • Andrea Fumagalli Professor of Economics in the Department of Economics and Management at University of Pavia

  • Florian Alexander Schmidt, Researcher, journalist and designer

  • Jasmine Rault Assistant Professor in Culture and Media at Eugene Lang College

  • Rob Horning Editor at the New Inquiry

  • Aleena Chia PhD candidate in the Department of Communication and Culture at Indiana University

  • Tom Buechele PhD candidate in Sociology and Research Fellow at the CUNY Grad Center

  • Doris Allhutter Scholar in Science and Technology Studies with a background in political science

  • McKenzie Wark Professor of Culture and Media at The New School

  • Burak Arikan Istanbul and New York based Artist

  • Winifred Poster Sociologist, teaching at Washington University, St. Louis

  • Karin Hansson artist, curator and PhD student at The Royal Institute of Arts in Stockholm

  • Rebecca Smith Deputy Director of the National Employment Law Project (NELP)

  • Morgan Currie PhD candidate in Information Studies at UCLA

  • Joke Hermes Professor of Media, Culture and Citizenship at Inholland University of Applied Sciences

  • Alice Marwick Assistant Professor of Communication and Media Studies

  • Jathan Sadowski PhD student at Arizona State University

  • Yates Mckee art critic

  • Christiane Paul Associate Professor at the New School

  • Lilly Irani Assistant Professor of Communication & Science Studies at University of California, San Diego

  • T.L. Cowan FemTechNet Chair of Experimental Pedagogies in the School of Media Studies

  • Tim Marshall Provost and Chief Academic Officer of The New School

  • Miriam Ticktin Associate Professor of Anthropology at the New School for Social Research

  • Stephanie Rothenberg Associate Professor in the Department of Art at SUNY Buffalo

  • Niloufar Salehi PhD student in Computer Science at Stanford University

  • Nicole Cohen Assistant professor at the University of Toronto

  • Caroline Woolard artist and organizer

  • Thorsten Busch Postdoctoral Fellow at Concordia University, Montreal

  • Tyler Coburn Artist & Writer

  • Greig de Peuter Assistant Professor in the Department of Communication Studies at Wilfrid Laurier University

  • Mushon Zer-Aviv designer, educator and media activist

  • Stefan Heidenreich writer, theoretician and art-critic

  • Arun Sundararajan Professor and NEC Faculty Fellow at New York University’s Leonard N. Stern School of Business.

  • PJ Rey PhD candidate at the University of Maryland

  • Daniel Joseph Ph.D. student and researcher at Ryerson and York Universities

  • Brishen Rogers Associate Professor of Law at Temple University Beasley School of Law

  • Stephanie Browner Dean of Eugene Lang College The New School for Liberal Arts

  • Matthew Tiessen Assistant Professor in the School of Professional Communication at Ryerson University